And finally…Cupcakes: My First Gourmet Cupcakes Ever.

Finally. A post about cupcakes.

The legend starts here. ;)

My journey in cupcakes began in 2011 at a bakery called Sugar Kneads Cakery in Loganville, GA. They weren’t always focused on cupcakes (they still make other delicious stuff too), but after being on Cupcake wars, they moved to their current location (which I will post at the end of this blog) and began pumping out more  and more delicious cupcakes.

The first thing I had from them was a blond brownie (this was at the old location) and it was scrumptious, but today, we focus on the cupcakes.

In case you’re wondering, I have an exceptionally good taste memory (sometimes I recreate restaurant dishes for fun) so that’s how I can review a cupcake from 2 years ago.

Here we go.

Image

The cupcake on the left is the Pumpkin Cupcake and the one on the right is the Snickers Cupcake. The fact that one is a pumpkin cupcake confirms my suspicion that I got these cupcakes in late October of 2011. (Also, my computer told me when the picture was taken).

Pumpkin Cupcake Review

A lightly spiced fall flavored cupcake.

The Pumpkin Cupcake’s greatest attribute lies in its frosting. It is mildly yet tastefully flavored so if you are expecting to taste pumpkin pie in a cupcake, you may be disappointed, but if you just want a nice fall cupcake with accents of pumpkin and spice then you may like it. It smelled good too.

Mmmm that frosting…I kind of want one now.

Le Snickers Cupcake

A chocolate cupcake with caramel and chocolate drizzle on the frosting topped with a piece of Snickers candy bar.

This cupcake was fantastic. I guess you can’t go very wrong with a Snickers cupcake. It was really sweet, but not overpoweringly so. I wish there had been more than one Snicker on the top, but I guess that wouldn’t have looked as awesome.

Speaking of awesome looking, Sugar Kneads is a very cute shop (like most cupcake shops) and they have a pink theme which includes pink boxes. I don’t even like pink and I was still a fan. I’m pretty sure I saved my first box for quite a while.

I can’t really decide which of the two I liked better. The Pumpkin Cupcake had more of a refined taste and the Snickers Cupcake was more of an easy crowd pleaser, but between the both of them, it was a great beginning to a cupcake obsession.

So glad I saved the moment in a picture.

The only critique I can think of for these cupcakes is that they were a little dry. If you like moist cupcakes, this may bother you, but if you tend to like a dryer cupcake….well I think you see were this is going.

The high points were:

The frosting on both.

The delicious spices in the Pumpkin Cupcake.

I toyed with the idea of setting up a numerical rating system for my cupcake reviews, but I’m not sure that would even be helpful considering everyone’s tastes are different. Because of this, I think it would make more sense to just describe the cupcakes and let YOU decide what you think of them if (and hopefully when) you taste them. If I change my mind…well I guess my mind will have been changed.

I have so many cupcakes since these that I was also itching to write about, but I had to start with the cupcakes that started it all. :) (Other cupcakes, wait your turn!)

Check out Sugar Kneads. I’ve been there several times now and it’s always enjoyable.

They also do wedding cakes and a bunch of other sweet stuff.

Image

678-639-1134
150 Athens Hwy.
Suite 700
Loganville, GA 30052

http://sugarkneads.com/cupcakes/

And like ‘em on facebook and tell them Cupcakes and the Universe blog sent you. (For extra points, also tell them this when you go to the store) ;)

https://www.facebook.com/sugar.kneads

Speaking of facebook, like the Cupcake and the Universe facebook page which now exists!

http://www.facebook.com/CupcakesAndTheUniverse

On the Facebook page, I will post shorter more bite sized (ha?) cupcake news, new posts when I put up a new blog, and other cool stuff. Join me and the cupcakes. We’re lonely.

Until next time Cupcake Nomads.

-Vanessa from the Universe.

Leave a Reply

